TISL presents Integrity Award 2008

TISL presents Integrity Award 2008

Investigative journalist Thusitha Pitigala and a government school teacher from Anuradhapura, S Priyantha Fernando were the winners of the National Integrity Award 2008 organised by Transparency International Sri Lanka (TISL) held for the fifth successive year at the BMICH on 9 December. The Officer-in-Charge, Potuhera police station, Deshabandu Senaratne won a Special Mention. 

The three winners received their awards from the chief guest at the ceremony Mr Pieter Eigen, Founder of Transparency International, the global coalition fighting corruption.

 The winners of the Anti-Corruption Cartoon Competition held by TISL also received their prizes. The first three places in the Adult category were won by K D Uday Preethi Sampath, M M D M Deleepa Dolawaththa and M H A Shantha Weeramuni while Pasan Manuja Maddumage, Dananga Ishari Fernando and B P C Janaki Dayananda were the main winners in the Youth category. There were seven Merit Award winners in each category.  

TISL Executive Director J C Weliamuna welcomed the guests among whom were representatives of Community Based Organisations (CBPs) from several parts of the country.  

The National Integrity Award winners are selected by an independent panel of judges from nominations received from individuals and organisations. This year’s panel of judges comprised Justice T.B. Weerasooriya – former judge of the Supreme Court, Professor Savithri Goonesekere – former Vice Chancellor of University of Colombo, Mr Ariyarathna Hewage – former secretary to the

Ministry of Education, and Ms. Jezima Ismail – the distinguished educationist and former  Chancellor – South Eastern University. 

The Sri Lanka Governance Report 2008 covering all vital sectors and key issues relating to governance over the year and a publication consisting of anti-corruption cartoons selected from among the entries to the TISL organized competition were also released. 

[nggallery id=3]

Share the Post


Comments are closed.