National Integrity Awards


Every year Transparency International Sri Lanka (TISL) honours and recognizes the inspirational efforts of many an unsung hero who work silently and diligently towards eradicating corruption and establishing good governance in their spheres of influence. Initiated in 2004, The National Integrity Award (NIA) is the signature event organized to commemorate the United Nations Anti Corruption Day, which fall on 9th December, designated to ‘raise awareness of corruption and of the role of the Convention in combating and preventing it’ .Transparency International, the global coalition against corruption created the Integrity Award in 2000 to recognize the courage and determination of the many individuals and organizations fighting corruption. As a national chapter of the coalition TISL have adopted this great tradition and have so far celebrated the courage of 10 winners and 5 Special Mention candidates.Individuals and organizations are invited to nominate persons or organizations who have shown exemplary courage for the cause of integrity in the fight against corruption in any sector or sphere.  Each year the Award is publicized and nominations are called for in June. The accepted nominations will go through a process of inspection and selection carried out by a committee of excellent repute.TISL will undertake awareness, training and advocacy interventions on anti-corruption in association with the NIA programme throughout the year as part of the annual work plan.

[imagebrowser id=3]

[imagebrowser id=16]

[imagebrowser id=28]

 Past Winners

[table "8" not found /]

Past Award Committee Members

2004– Dr.Shelton Wanasinghe, Dr B.S.Wijeweera, Mrs.Manel Abeysekara

2005– Dr.Shelton Wanasinghe, Dr. B.S.Wijeweera, Mrs.Manel Abeysekara

2006– Dr.Shelton Wanasinghe, Dr. B.S.Wijeweera, Mrs.Manel Abeysekara

2007– Justice Mark Fernando PC, Dr.Nelum Deepika Udagama, Mr.S.C.Mayadunne, Mr.S.G.Punchihewa

2008– Justice T.B.Weerasooriya, Prof.Savithri Goonasekara, Mr.Ariyaratne Hewage, Mrs.Jezima Ismail

2009– Mrs.Jezima Ismail, Dr.Douglas A Nethsinghe, Mr.Samitha de Silva, Mr.Deepal Sooriyarachi

2010– Mr.Nalaka Gunawardena, Dr.Selvy Thiruchandran, Dr.Rohan Samarajiva


NIA Chief Guests

2004– Justice Mark Fernando

2005– Justice Venketachala – Lokayuktha (Ombudsman) State of Karnataka, India

2006– Ms. Aruna Roy

2007– Dr. Kiran Bedi – First woman police officer in india to become Inspector General of Prisons

2008– Mr. Peter Eigen – Founder & Chair of the Advisory council – Transparency International

2009– Mr. Arvind Kejriwal – Winner of the Ramon Magsaysay Award foe Emergent Leadership – 2006

2010– Mr. Kanak Mani Dixit