Bribery Commission members file rights case – SC grants leave to proceeed

Bribery Commission members file rights case – SC grants leave to proceeed

The Island

The three members of the Permanent Commission to Investigate Bribery and Corruption, Ameer Ismail, P. Edussuriya and Indra de Silva complained to the Supreme Court that they had not received the salary increases and the fuel allowance granted to them by Parliament.

The pay rise had been approved by the parliament between the period of January 1, 2006 and January 30, 2009, they said adding that they had also been granted a monthly petrol quota of 250 litres. But, none of those new benefits had been passed down to them up to date.

The Commissioners have claimed arbitrary treatment by the Director General and connected respondents.

They have requested the Court to declare the violation of their rights and to grant them their due relief.

The petition was supported by Faiz Mustapha PC, instructed by Gowri Shangari Thevarasa.

Deputy Solicitor General Shavindra Fernando, who appeared for the State, said that the matter could be settled if leave to proceed with the petition was granted.

The Court granted leave to proceed under the alleged arbitrary treatment, the petitioner said they had been subjected to. The case will be mentioned on August 23, 2010.

The Bench comprised Justices Saleem Marsoof, S. I. Imam and R. K. S. Sureshchandra.

/ News

Share the Post


No comment yet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *